Congress to Act on Horse Slaughter 

H.R. 6598 Scheduled for Hearing. Contact Committee Members Now 

July 27, 2008


Dear Friends,


H.R. 6598, the Conyers - Burton  Prevention of Equine Cruelty Act of 2008 (the bill which now replaces the AHSPA - HR 503 & S. 311), is scheduled for a hearing before the House Judiciary Committee, Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism and Homeland Security on Thursday, July 31st at 9:30 a.m.


H.R. 6598 - introduced to the House on July 24th by Representative John Conyers Jr., in an effort to make our way around the pro horse slaughter lobby blockade of the AHSPA, will permanently put an end to the slaughter of horses for human consumption and the transport of live American horses for slaughter across the US border.


So far this year, over 60,000 horses have been slaughtered in Canadian and Mexican horse slaughter plants under appalling conditions, where they are subjected to blatant abuse and unspeakable suffering. As the end of the 110th Congressional session looms near, Members of Congress must act NOW to stop this ongoing tragedy.




Time is of the essence, so immediate action is required to ensure swift passage of H.R. 6598 by both the Committee on the Judiciary and the House of Representatives.


Please contact your US Representative and request him/her to cosponsor H.R. 6598. In addition, please contact ALL the members of the House Judiciary Committee asking them to cosponsor H.R. 6598 and support it as introduced by Congressman Conyers.


Below you will find a phone and fax directory for the members of the House Committee on the Judiciary. This directory is also available for download at


If you don’t know who is your Representative you can find out by going to  and typing in your zip code.


Please begin making calls and faxes today, and continue to do so until the hearing begins. Please share this alert with family, friends and co-workers, and encourage them to call or fax their Representatives, as well.


Additionally, Congress will soon adjourn for summer recess. We strongly encourage advocates to set up appointments to meet with your Representative and Senators while they are at home in their district offices during the recess. Face to face meetings with your Representative and Senators are likely the single most important thing an advocate can do to gain their support. Please call to make your appointments today!


For more information about horse slaughter and H.R. 6598, please go to


Your support is needed now more than ever; thank you very much for your help!


If you have any questions please feel free to contact us at admin@... or fletosojoi@....


Thank you for your help!     



Daniel Cordero-Fernandez





The column “cosponsor” indicates whether they are cosponsors of H.R. 6598 while the “HR 503” shows if they are cosponsoring the AHSPA and thus need to transfer their support to the new bill.


Chair and Ranking Min. Member        Phone             Fax                  Cosponsor       HR 503


Chair: John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI)              202-225-5126    202-225-0072    YES                 YES

Rank: Lamar Smith (R-TX)                     202-225-4236    202-225-8628    NO                   NO


Rest of Members:


Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)                          202-225-2906    202-225-6942    NO                   YES

Howard L. Berman (D-CA)                     202-225-4695    202-225-3196    NO                   YES

Rick Boucher (D-VA)                             202-225-3861    202-225-0442    NO                   YES

Chris Cannon (R-UT)                             202-225-7751    202-225-5629    NO                   NO

Steve Chabot (R-OH)                             202-225-2216    202-225-3012    YES                 NO

Howard Coble (R-NC)                            202-225-3065    202-225-8611    NO                   NO

Steve Ira Cohen (D-TN)                          202-225-3265    202-225-5663    NO                   YES

Artur Davis (D-AL)                                 202-225-2665    202-226-9567    NO                   NO

Bill Delahunt (D-MA)                             202-225-3111    202-225-5658    NO                   YES

Keith Ellison (D-MN)                             202-225-4755    202-225-4886    NO                   YES

Tom Feeney (R-FL)                               202-225-2706    202-226-6299    NO                   NO

J. Randy Forbes (R-VA)                        202-225-6365    202-226-1170    NO                   NO

Trent Franks (R-AZ)                              202-225-4576    202-225-6328    NO                   NO

Elton Gallegly (R-CA)                            202-225-5811    202-225-1100    NO                   YES

Louie Gohmert (R-TX)                            202-225-3035    202-226-1230    NO                   NO

Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)                           202-225-5431    202-225-9681    NO                   NO

Luis V. Gutierrez (D-IL)                          202-225-8203    202-225-7810    NO                   YES

Darrell Issa (R-CA)                                202-225-3906    202-225-3303    NO                   NO

Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX)                     202-225-3816    202-225-3317    NO                   YES

Hank Johnson (D-GA)                           202-225-1605    202-226-0691    NO                   YES

Jim Jordan (R-OH)                                202-225-2676    202-226-0577    NO                   NO

Ric Keller (R-FL)                                   202-225-2176    202-225-0999    NO                   YES

Steve King (R-IA)                                  202-225-4426    202-225-3193    NO                   NO

Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)                               202-225-3072    202-225-3336    NO                   YES

Dan Lungren (R-CA)                              202-225-5716    202-226-1298    NO                   NO

Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)                            202-225-5635    202-225-6923    YES                 NO

Mike Pence (R-IN)                                202-225-3021    202-225-3382    NO                   NO

Linda T. Sanchez (D-CA)                       202-225-6676    202-226-1012    NO                   NO

Adam Schiff (D-CA)                               202-225-4176    202-225-5828    NO                   YES

Robert C. Scott (D-VA)                          202-225-8351    202-225-8354    YES                 NO

F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (R-WI)       202-225-5101    202-225-3190    NO                   NO

Brad Sherman (D-CA)                           202-225-5911    202-225-5879    NO                   YES

Betty Sutton (D-OH)                              202-225-3401    202-225-2266    YES                 NO

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL)        202-225-7931    202-226-2052    YES                 NO

Maxine Waters (D-CA)                          202-225-2201    202-225-7854    NO                   YES

Melvin L. Watt (D-NC)                           202-225-1510    202-225-1512    NO                   YES

Anthony Weiner (D-NY)                         202-225-6616    202-226-7253    NO                   YES

Robert Wexler (D-FL)                            202-225-3001    202-225-5974    NO                   YES